Organizational Structure

The NCIHC is currently governed by an 11-member Board made up of the President, Vice-President, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and 6 Directors. Board members serve two-year terms and are elected by the NCIHC membership. Half of the board is re-elected in any given year.

The NCIHC also consists of the following committees that support its organizational goals and mission, along with an advisory group of individuals who provide expert insight and support.

Members interested in active participation in the work of the NCIHC, either on a committee or a specific project, should contact us right away!

The Executive Committee is made up of the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and one member-at-large selected by the board.

The Education and Research Committee ​serves in an advisory capacity to assist organizations and individuals that want to carry out educational and research activities through the NCIHC or on their own. It also engages in both education and research and setting standards for both. 

The Event Planning Committee manages the planning and execution of the various event-related programs of the Council, especially the Annual Membership Meeting. 

The Finance Committee of the NCIHC is responsible for consulting with the Treasurer on the annual budget process of the corporation; for reviewing and making recommendations on the annual budget submitted by the Treasurer and for developing and recommending long range financial objectives for the Council.  The Finance Committee will be working with all other NCIHC Committees in carrying out its role of fiscal oversight and planning.

The Outreach and Membership Committee manages communications with the Council's geographically, ethnically, professionally and socially diverse multidisciplinary membership and supporters.

The Policy Committee tracks and responds to policy initiatives affecting interpreters and/or limited-English speaking individuals while promoting dialogue regarding research related to language barriers and health care.

The Standards and Training Committee works to develop consensus and share expertise around all aspects of interpreter practice and training. It includes several working groups that contribute through webinars, resource development for Languages of Lesser Diffusion and white papers published through NCIHC. 

The Advisory Group works to link the Council to working interpreters and other experts in language access. 

NCIHC Board of Directors

President 2018-2020
Enrica Ardemagni, PhD
Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis
Indianapolis, IN
[email protected]

Interim Vice-President 2019-2020
Kevin Cunningham
Certified Languages International
Portland, OR
[email protected]

Treasurer 2018-2020
Gaye Gentes
Found in Translation
Cambridge, MA
[email protected]

Interim Secretary 2019-2020
Tim Moriarty
Baystate Health
Springfield, MA
[email protected]

Director 2018-2020
Erika Shell Castro
Norcross, GA
[email protected]

Director 2018-2020
Cecilia Phelan-Stiles
Cape Cod Healthcare
Hyannis, MA
[email protected]

Director 2018-2020
Rosanna Balistreri
REACH-reaching diversity
San Diego, CA
[email protected]

Director 2018-2020
Jane Kontrimas
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, MA
[email protected]

Director 2019-2021
Gabriela Seibach
Santee, CA
[email protected]

Director 2019-2021
Lynette Reep
University of Vermont Medical Center
Burlington, VT
[email protected]

NCIHC Committee Members

Advisory Committee

TBD 2018


Finance Committee

Gaye Gentes - MA

Enrica Ardemagni - IN

Lisa Morris - RI


Event Planning Committee

 Joy Connell - MA (Chair)

Kevin Cunningham - OR (Vice-Chair)

Jason Reczek - IL

Maria Schwieter - IN

Lisa Morris - RI


Outreach and Membership Committee

Tim Moriarty - MA

Cecilia Phelan-Stiles - MA

Lynette Reep - VT

Erika Shell Castro - GA

Standards and Training Committee

Rosanna Balistreri - CA (Chair)

Jane Kontrimas - MA (Vice Chair)

Erin Rosales - WI

Katherine Langan - IA

Analia Lang


Education and Research Committee


Gabriela Siebach - CA

Enrica Ardemagni - IN

Policy Committee


Carlos Pava - MI


Organizational Development Committee


Enrica Ardemagni - IN

Joy Connell - MA

Esther Diaz - TX


Webinar Work Group (under Standards and Training Committee)

Melissa Wallace 

Linda Golley

Eliana Lobo

Elena Langdon

Jane Miller

Jaime Fatás Cabeza

Suzanne Couture

Rachel Herring

Erin Rosales


Languages of Limited Diffusion (LLD) Work Group (under Standards and Training Committee)

Rosanna Ballistreri - CA  Catherine Anderson - MO
Melanie Lang - MO Natasha Curtis - OH
Katherine Langan - IA